BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
MINUTE BOOK 23, PAGE

## JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL SESSION RE-DISTRICTING MEETING WITH SCHOOL BOARD December 19, 2011

The Board met this date in special session. Present were Chairman Hines Boyd, Commissioners Betsy Barfield, Stephen Fulford, Danny Monroe and John Nelson. Also present were School Board members Chairperson Marianne Arbulu, Charles Boland, Sandra Saunders, Ed Vollertsen and Shirley Washington. Also present were County Coordinator Roy Schleicher, County Attorney Buck Bird and Clerk of Court Kirk Reams.

- 1. School Board member Ed Vollertsen made a motion to postpone the re-districting process until 2013, to which Commissioner Monroe seconded for discussion. Commissioner Barfield stated a desire to wait until after IT Director Johnnie Abron gave his map presentation. School Board member Vollertsen stated his desire to postpone the process before hearing the map presentation. Commissioner Monroe withdrew his second and the motion died for lack of a second. Mr. Abron gave his presentation on the redistricting map. Chairman Boyd disagreed that District 3 was not within the requirements set out at the beginning of the redistricting process. School Board member Shirley Washington made a motion to accept Mr. Abron's redistricting map, to which School Board member Marianne Arbulu seconded for discussion. Citizen Paul Michael requested that the small TIGER block where he resided be placed back in District 4 because he had a vested interest established when he ran for County Commission in that district. Mrs. Washington amended her motion to reflect Mr. Michael's request and Mrs. Arbulu amended her second for discussion. Commissioner Barfield expressed her desire for the TIGER block north of Lloyd to be included in District 4. Both Boards voted to accept the map as amended by Mrs. Washington's motion, with the Commissioner Barfield the lone opposing vote.
- 2. The School Board moved into independent session in order to vote as a separate body. On motion by School Board member Shirley Washington, seconded by School Board member Sandra Saunders and carried 4 to 1 (School Board member Ed Vollertsen opposed), the School Board approved the re-districting map presented by Mr. Abron as amended.
- 3. On motion by School Board member Saunders, seconded by School Board member Washington and unanimously carried, the School Board independent session was adjourned.
- 4. The Board of County Commissioners moved into independent session in order to vote as a separate body. On motion by Commissioner Nelson, seconded by Commissioner Fulford and carried 3 to 2 (Commissioner Barfield and Commissioner Boyd opposed), the Board approved the re-districting map presented by Mr. Abron as amended.
- 5. On motion by Commissioner Fulford, seconded by Commissioner Nelson and unanimously carried, the BOCC independent session was adjourned.

Attest:		Chairman
7 ttest	Clerk	