Where do I mail my traffic fine?
If your traffic citation was issued in Jefferson County, mail payment to:
Jefferson County Clerk of Circuit Court
Attn: Traffic Division
1 Courthouse Circle
Monticello, Florida (32344)
Also you may pay your ticket online Click Here to Pay.
Please Note: Any payments made after 2PM will be posted to the following business day.
When must my traffic citation be paid?
Payment of a traffic citation must be received in the Clerk’s Office within thirty (30) calendar days of the citation issue date. Remember that if you are mailing your payment, it must be received in our office by the 30th day. Payments received after the 30th day will be considered delinquent and will be subjected to late fees and/or a suspension of your driver’s license.
May I get an extension of time beyond the 30 days to pay my citation?
Yes. Additional time to pay a traffic fine may be granted by coming to the Traffic Department of the Jefferson County Courthouse or by calling 850-342-0218 ext. 226.
If my citation was issued outside of Jefferson County, may I pay the fine in Jefferson County?
No. The Clerk in JeffersonCounty can accept payment for traffic citations issued only in Jefferson County. If your citation was issued outside of Jefferson County, contact the Clerk in the county of issue. All citations issued in Jefferson County must be paid in Jefferson County.
What will happen if I fail to pay my traffic citation within 30 days?
You will be assessed a late fee of $23.00 and a report will be mailed to the Department of Highway Safety to suspend your driver’s license. Your driver’s license will remain suspended until payment, including the late fee, is paid and the ticket will be turned over to a collection agency and more fees added. Upon payment in full of your citation, you will be issued a D6 clearance form. This clearance must be presented to any office of the Department of Highway Safety or if you are a resident of Florida and this is your only outstanding citation, your driving privileges may be reinstated through the Clerk of Court’s Office.
How can I reinstate my driver’s license for failure to pay a traffic fine?
The Clerk’s Office can assist you in reinstating your license. If there are other reasons for the suspension, you will need to go to a driver’s license office for reinstatement. A reinstatement fee is required. If the citation has been turned over to our collection agency, you may have to contact them.
How do I keep from having points assessed to my license?
You may elect to attend traffic school if you have not done so within the past 12 months and have not attended more than five times in your lifetime. In some instances, our County Judge may be able to withhold the points. Please contact the Clerk’s Office for details.
If I complete traffic school, will my insurance rates increase?
Your insurance company will make that decision. Please contact them with this question.
How do I contact a traffic school?
Florida law prohibits the Clerk or any governmental entity from referring individuals to a particular Traffic School; however, you are directed to the telephone directory yellow pages under the listing “Driving Instruction”.
Can I attend traffic school anywhere?
You may attend traffic school anywhere in the State of Florida, including approved online schools.
How long will I have to complete traffic school?
Your certificate of completion of traffic school must be received in this office no later than 90 days after the date you signed for the election. (Signed Affidavit). A certificate received after the 90th day will be considered delinquent. Late fees and/or a suspension of your driver’s license may apply and the ticket will be turned over to a collection agent. It is advisable to contact and enroll in a traffic school as soon as possible to ensure the completion being filed on time.
If I went to traffic school recently for another citation, may I go again?
No. Traffic school may be elected only once within a 12-month period and no more than 5 times total in your lifetime.